Let's GRE Together

Let's GRE Together with Academic Commons

Study for the GRE together!

Are you planning to apply to graduate or doctoral programs December 2019 and want to take the GRE this fall?

Join a free cohort of students and alumni who are studying for the GRE.

The cohort will meet weekly to study and take two proctored practice exams together. The cohort will support itself through group collaboration and accountability in studying, planning, and successfully completing the GRE. Academic Commons staff will lead specific practice sessions on quantitative reasoning, verbal reasoning, and analytical writing.

Any member of the GW community may take the practice exams (sign up).

The Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) is a standardized test used for admissions requirement for most graduate and doctorate programs in the United States.

Schedule

Meets on Wednesdays, 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. Cohort runs July 10, 2019 - October 9, 2019. 

Wednesday, July 10 (6-7PM): Welcome
Wednesday, July 17 (6-7:30PM): Practice Exam #1
Wednesday, July 24 (6-7PM): Review Exam #1
Wednesday, July 31 (6-7PM): Quantitative reasoning practice
Wednesday, August 7 (6-7PM): Verbal reasoning practice
Wednesday, August 14 (6-7PM): Analytical writing practice
Wednesday, August 21 (6-7:30PM): Practice Exam #2
Wednesday, August 28 (6-7PM): Review Exam #2
Wednesday, September 4 (6-7PM): Quantitative reasoning practice
Wednesday, September 11(6-7PM): Verbal reasoning practice
Wednesday, September 18 (6-7PM): Quantitative reasoning practice
Week of September 25: Take the exam!
Wednesday, October 9 (6-7PM): Regrouping post-GRE

Looking for some extra help? Drop-in for extra qualitative help on Thursdays, 1:00-3:00PM in Gelman 201. 

Questions?

Email academiccommons@gwu.edu if you have any questions or if you would like to schedule a 1:1 appointment with an Academic Commons staff to review study plans & to answer any questions about the GRE process.